2022 Book industry Hall of Fame inductees and Business Awards shortlist

31 May 2022

The ABIAs celebrate the professionals in the book business – the dedicated individuals and teams who bring stories to life, authors’ dreams to reality, and books to the right readers.

Congratulations to the new Hall of Fame recipients, the shortlist for the 2022 Rising Star Award and the shortlist for the 2022 Business Awards, all recognising outstanding contributions to the industry.

Lloyd O’Neil Hall of Fame Award

The Lloyd O’Neil Hall of Fame Award recognises outstanding service to the Australian book industry by an individual from within its ranks.

The 2022 Hall of Fame inductee is publisher Sandy Grant.

Sandy Grant - 2022 Lloyd O'Neill

Sandy has spent his working lifetime in books and publishing. He has worked in educational and trade publishing, in Australia and in the United Kingdom, starting at Pitman Publishing in 1977 and rising to become Chief Executive of Reed Books in his thirties. Sandy and his partner, Fiona Hardie (and a young Julie Pinkham), launched Hardie Grant 24 years ago. Since then, the business has grown to a turnover of $120 million, 280 staff with offices in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, London and San Francisco.

In addition to his own career and business, Sandy has contributed to the broader publishing community as a Director of Meanjin, Chair of the Melbourne Writers’ Festival, a member of the Book Industry Study Group, a member of Melbourne’s UNESCO City of Literature Bid Committee, President of the APA, and Chair of the Copyright Agency.

Pixie O’Harris Award

The Pixie O’Harris Award recognises publishers, editors, creators, booksellers, publicists and other industry representatives who have worked consistently in the field of children’s literature, demonstrated commitment beyond the call of duty, and who have developed a reputation for their contribution to the children’s book sector.

The 2022 Award goes to author Libby Hathorn.

Libby Hathorn - 2022 Pixie O'Harris

For more than fifty years, Libby Hathorn, writer and former teacher-librarian, has been one of Australia’s most acclaimed authors of books for children and young people, as well as a tireless advocate for the importance of children’s literature. Through her writing and mentoring, Libby has helped to shape Australia’s reading culture across generations, raising the profile and standard of Australian children’s books and sparking a love of language and words in countless children.

Libby has published over eighty books across many genres, including poetry, textbooks on writing, picture books and novels. Translated into several languages and adapted for stage and screen, Libby’s books are often concerned with the rights of children and the importance of nurturing them in every way. Her work has won honours in Australia and around the world.

2022 Business Awards Shortlist 2022

Bookshops and booksellers are key to the success of the industry. Congratulations to each of the businesses shortlisted for National Retailer of the Year and Bookshop of the Year for 2022. Congratulations also to the contenders for the Small Publisher and Publisher of the Year Awards.

National Retailer of the Year shortlist

Proudly presented by XL Express

2022 Book Retailer of the Year Shortlist

  • Readings
  • Harry Hartog Bookseller
  • Booktopia
  • Dymocks
  • Big W

The judging panel was impressed by the reach of retailers that tap into non-traditional book-buying markets, that seek new customers and support their local communities. Across the shortlist, judges saw a great commitment from book retailers to children’s bookselling, First Nations voices, staff care and building dedicated customer relationships. These qualities are key to the success of the Australian book industry.

Bookshop of the Year shortlist

Proudly presented by Alliance Distribution Services

2022 Bookshop of the Year Shortlist

  • Open Book (Mosman Park, WA)
  • Matilda Bookshop (Adelaide, SA)
  • Potts Point Bookshop (Sydney, NSW)
  • Avenue Bookstore Albert Park (Victoria, VIC)
  • Avid Reader Bookshop (Brisbane, QLD)
  • Paper Bird Children’s Books & Arts (Fremantle, WA)

The judging panel noted that “all the entries were impressive, and the shortlisted stores are shining examples of how small businesses can innovate and overcome adversity. From sales trend analytics, shifts to online retailing, staff care and cultivation of a sense of community, settling on a shortlist was a difficult task for the panel, never mind picking a winner.”

Publishers large and small are also celebrated for their professionalism, efforts and successes in bringing books to life. This year the shortlists for the Publisher of the Year and the Small Publisher of the Year are:

Small Publisher of the Year

Proudly presented by Readings

2022 Small Publisher of the Year Shortlist

  • Pantera Press
  • Scribe Publications
  • Black Inc.
  • University of Queensland Press (UQP)
  • Monash University Publishing
  • Melbourne University Publishing

The judges have said, ”Every small publisher offers something unique to the cultural landscape of Australia. Their strength in the market is growing and they are undeniably creative in their publishing.”

The Judging panel were impressed by the commitment to diversity, environmental issues, and promotion of Australian storytelling along with their innovative approaches to reaching
new audiences and finding new voices.

Publisher of the Year

Proudly presented by Overdrive

2022 Publisher of the Year Shortlist

  • Hachette
  • Penguin Random House Australia
  • Pan Macmillan Australia
  • Hardie Grant Publishing
  • Allen & Unwin
  • Thames & Hudson Australia

The judges said, “It has been another difficult year for anyone in the business of manufacturing and distribution. Publishers in Australia have faced that head on and had magnificent results in the past 12 months. The shortlisted publishers have grown sales, sought out new routes to market, focused on staff care and improving the diversity and inclusion of the industry.”

Meet the Rising Stars who have made the 2022 Awards shortlist.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 9 June.

Get your tickets here to be in the room when the winners of the Business Awards are announced.