2024 Hall of Fame Winners and Business Awards Shortlists

4 Apr 2024

The ABIAs celebrate the professionals in the book business – the dedicated individuals and teams who bring stories to life, and books to the right readers.

Congratulations to the new Hall of Fame recipients, and the companies shortlisted for the five Business Awards, all recognising outstanding contributions to the industry.

Browse the Business Awards shortlists below, while the shortlists for the Book Awards can be viewed here.


Hall of Fame: Lloyd O’Neil Award – Fiona Stager 

Fiona Stager’s dedication to fostering a vibrant literary community in Brisbane is truly remarkable. Through bookstores Avid Reader and Where the Wild Things Are, she has not only provided a platform for local and emerging writers – she has cultivated a space where readers can explore a diverse range of literature, from classics to contemporary works.

Fiona has made immense contributions to the Australian literary scene, and her efforts continue to shape and enrich the cultural landscape of the country.

Fiona says of being recognised with the award:

‘I was so surprised and overwhelmed when I was told I was this year’s recipient of the Lloyd O’Neil Award I cried! The previous recipients are people who have inspired me with their writing, or their publishing careers or bookselling acumen. I love this industry, and to be awarded the Lloyd O’Neil Award means the world to me.’

Hall of Fame: Pixie O’Harris Award – Jane Godwin 

Jane Godwin’s impact on Australian children’s literature is immense and multifaceted. As the award-winning author of over forty books, her creativity and prolific output demonstrate her dedication to the craft, and she is a tireless advocate for Australian children’s literature.

Jane’s continued support for fellow authors and illustrators is recognised widely in the industry, in both her work as an author and her many years as a publisher of children’s books. Her genuine warmth and generosity has left a lasting impression on her colleagues in the book industry. Jane’s efforts have not only enriched the landscape of Australian children’s literature, but fostered a love of reading and storytelling in young people that will endure for generations to come.

Jane said of receiving this award:

‘I am surprised, honoured and grateful to receive the 2024 Pixie O’Harris Award. My life in the world of children’s books springs from a passion I have held since childhood and feels inseparable from my personality. I am so touched to be recognised by the industry – thank you.’

ABIA 2024 Business Awards Shortlists

Warm wishes to all those shortlisted for Bookshop of the Year, Marketing Strategy of the Year, Commissioning Editor/Publisher of the Year and Publisher and Small Publisher of the Year Awards.

Bookshop of the Year

  • Kinokuniya Sydney
  • Matilda Bookshop
  • Big W Warringah Mall
  • Potts Point Bookshop
  • Avenue Bookstore Elsternwick
  • Fullers Bookshop

Small Publisher of the Year

  • University of Queensland Press (UQP)
  • Pantera Press
  • Magabala Books
  • Monash University Publishing
  • Fremantle Press
  • Rockpool Publishing

Publisher of the Year

  • Simon & Schuster Australia
  • Affirm Press
  • Hachette Australia
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • Hardie Grant Publishing
  • Penguin Random House Australia

Commissioning Editor/Publisher of the Year

  • Kirsten Abbott (Thames & Hudson Australia)
  • Anthea Bariamis (Simon & Schuster Australia)
  • Vanessa Radnidge (Hachette Australia)
  • Rebecca Saunders (Hachette Australia)
  • Catherine Milne (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Madonna Duffy (UQP)

Marketing Strategy of the Year

  • Lola in the Mirror by Trent Dalton (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Fourth Wing and Iron Flame by Rebecca Yarros (Hachette Australia)
  • The Bookbinder of Jericho by Pip Williams (Affirm Press)
  • Wifedom by Anna Funder (Penguin Random House Australia)
  • The Last Devil to Die by Richard Osman (Penguin Random House Australia)
  • Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect by Benjamin Stevenson (Penguin Random House Australia)

Book Awards shortlists and ABIA 2024 Ceremony

The Book Awards shortlists were announced last month, and can be viewed here.

Join your industry colleagues to celebrate the Hall of Fame winners and all those shortlisted for Awards – and of course, to be there on the night as the winners are announced!

The Awards Ceremony takes place on Thursday 9 May at Zinc Fed Square in Melbourne.

Learn more and book tickets here.