Hall of Fame Awards


The ABIA Hall of Fame awards are presented annually, recognising significant contributions to the industry.

Lloyd O’Neil

The Lloyd O’Neil award recognises outstanding service to the Australian Book Industry by an individual from within its ranks, including publishers, booksellers, authors and other industry representatives with exceptional long service to the industry.

Lloyd O’Neil (1928 – 1992) was a pioneer of Australian publishing, beginning his career as a bookseller and becoming an insightful and talented publisher, printing popular mass market titles that captured the mood of the nation and developing hugely successful educational and travel lists.


View the honour roll and previous winners here

Pixie O’Harris

The Pixie O’Harris Award recognises publishers, editors, creators, booksellers, publicists and other industry representatives who have worked consistently in the field of children’s literature, demonstrated commitment beyond the call of duty, and who have developed a reputation for their contribution.

It is named in honour of children’s book author and illustrator, Pixie O’Harris (1903 – 1991), who had a longstanding career in publishing and painted many murals in hospital wards, health centres and schools.

View the honour roll and previous winners here