2024 ABIA Judges

Each year, experienced professionals from across the books and publishing industry work together to assess submissions for the Australian Book Industry Awards.

Between them, the judges assess nominations in 19 categories, forming nine specialist panels to review the submissions – in 2024, that’s 14 Book Awards categories, and five Business Awards.

This year, there were 50 ABIA judges. Our thanks to each and every one of the judges for their time and expertise – they’re an essential part of the Awards!


Awards Criteria

The ABIAs celebrate the business of making books and bringing them to readers. Being shortlisted for an ABIA is a mark of excellence – a celebration of every member of the team involved in the work. 

There are many skilled and talented people involved in publishing and selling a book – from the writing and illustration to commissioning, editing, designing, marketing, selling to stores and libraries, and selling to readers themselves. The judging criteria take into account these aspects.


ABIA 2024 judges

Introducing the ABIA judges (in alphabetical order), who represent expertise from across writing, publishing and bookselling:

Alex Allan – Fremantle Press
Elissa Baillie – Simon & Schuster
Annabel Barker – Annabel Barker Agency
Mel Barton – Target
Stefania Capogna – Booktopia
Caitlan Cooper-Trent – Curtis Brown
Sean Cotcher – HarperCollins
Katie Crawford – Pan Macmillan
Mark Davis – Melbourne University
Michael Earp – Affirm Press
Alysha Farry – Hachette
Karen Ferris – Harry Hartog
Angela Glindemann – Books and Publishing
Robert Gorman – Allen & Unwin
Anita Heiss – author
Stephanie Holt – IPEd
Matt Hoy – Allen & Unwin
Alison Huber – Readings
Robyn Huppert – Book People
Fiona Inglis – Curtis Brown
Yazmin Islam – Wiley
Tim Jarvis – Fullers Bookshop/President of BookPeople
Darren Kelly – Simon & Schuster
Arry Kinnear – Spotify
Lillian Kovats – Hachette
Anna Low – Potts Point Bookshop
Pippa Masson – Curtis Brown
Ryan McGoldrick – JCDecaux
Deb McInnes – DMCPR
Jane Morrow – Murdoch Books
Joel Naoum – Booktopia
Jane Novak – Jane Novak Literary Agency
Malcolm O’Brien – Overdrive
Brett Osmond – Leading Hand
Marisa Pintado – Hardie Grant
Justin Ractliffe – Thames & Hudson
Juliet Rieden – Australian Women’s Weekly
Joe Robbo – Managing Director, Readings
Cora Roberts – Text Publishing
Gavin Schwarcz – Penguin Random House Australia
Fiona Stager – Avid Reader
Jason Steger – The Age
Hsu Tin – Dymocks
Holly Toohey – Penguin Random House Australia
Erin Wamala – The Kids’ Bookshop
Terri-ann White – Upswell
Rick Wiebusch – Thames & Hudson
Gavin Williams – Matilda’s Bookshop
Tonile Wortley – Hachette
Luc Yong – Readings


Interested in becoming an ABIA judge in future? Let us know! Contact the APA Office team.